Montreux Jazz Artists Foundation - Logo Montreux Jazz Festival - Logo


The 25 year-old Swede, Kasper Agnas, wins the Montreux Jazz Electric Guitar Competition. Presided over by Austrian guitarist Wolfgang Muthspiel, the jury comprised of Pierre Philippe Cadert (guitarist and RTS journalist), Barbara Canepa (Head of Jazz, Pro Helvetia), Julien Feltin (Director of EJMA), Jean-Claude Reber (Director of CMVR) and Julien Revilloud (Professor of Guitar at EJMA).

The gap between the young Swede and his competitors was judged to be so considerable that the jury decided not to attribute the second prize. Third place was therefore awarded to two guitarists: the Australian, Felix Lalanne and the South Korean, Shangjun Ahn.

1st Prize: Kasper Agnas

Born in 1992, Kasper Agnas has, over the past three years, been at the helm of the new Swedish jazz scene. He has collaborated with a number of European musicians (Julia Strzalek, Susana Santos Silva, David Stackenäs, Joakim Milder, Nils Landgren…) and received critical acclaim for his group Agnas Bros., bringing together his three brothers with whom he has toured several European countries.

All three laureates will participate in the 4th Montreux Jazz Academy that will take place from 23rd February to 3rd March 2018.